Writer Totally Tyler is totally insightful, and he’s totally the first guest of the new Brushstrokes author events at Mixx. Meet him on March 22 with “Your Boyfriend & Other Guys I’ve Kissed.”

With a subtitle like “The Tails of Totally Tyler,” you might think it’s all slutty fun as Tyler (photo) romps through gay Atlanta on a manhunt. Yes, there are plenty of dates, drinks and debauchery, but this debut collection of stories is more than that, according to Brushstrokes.

In the tradition of David Sedaris and Carrie Bradshaw, party boy blogger Totally Tyler hilariously navigates his way through the gay Atlanta dating scene – one lemon drop martini at a time.

Sometimes humorous, sometimes heartbreaking, always poignant, Totally Tyler weaves triumphant and tragic tales of tail. …

Given its cheeky and suggestive title, expect to read about kissing toads and princes but you’ll also learn about Tyler’s family, because in his words, “I didn’t want to look like a complete slut and also because my family is adorably kooky and entertaining.”

Wit and laughs aside, “Your Boyfriend & Other Guys I’ve Kissed” is truly an age-old tale of a man looking for love.

You can read the first chapter.

The book reading and signing is the first of a promised slate of author events hosted by Brushstrokes at Mixx, which stepped up to the literary plate after the collapse of Outwrite. Of course, Brushstrokes puts its own twist on the concept.

Photo from the Totally Tyler blog.